MAXimum Classic Rock

John Mellencamp
Pink Floyd
Rolling Stones
Tom Petty
Led Zepplin
ZZ Top

Here is the link to my full interview with Jethro Tull's Ian Anderson!
MAX Rock Report for Thursday, ROCKtober 2, 2014:

*One of the biggest antivirus software companies, McAfee, have recently released their Most Dangerous Cyber Celebrities list and the results isn't good news for music fans. If you enjoy searching Bruce Springsteen, Bon Jovi, Jimmy Kimmel and Britney Spears, your computer may be at harm. Topping the list of ten celebrities is Jimmy Kimmel with 19.38% chance of downloading a virus!

Be careful next time you search the internet for your favorite celebrity! The last thing you need to have is a virus when you’re searching a basic, little fact about your favorite singer, actor or TV host. Check out McAfee’s Top 10 Most Dangerous Cyber Celebrities List of 2014 below:

1. Jimmy Kimmel — 19.38% chance of downloading a virus

2. Armin van Buuren — 19.33%

3. Ciara — 19.31%

4. Flo Rida — 18.89%

5. Bruce Springsteen — 18.82%

6. Blake Shelton — 18.47%

7. Britney Spears — 18.19%

8. Jon Bon Jovi — 17.64%

9. Chelsea Handler — 17.22%

10. Christina Aguilera — 16.67%

*Although Roger Waters had left Pink Floyd 29 years ago, he still receives questions and comments about him being in the band. Waters recently had posted a note on his Facebook page sharing that his wife has been questioned by people about Waters’ new, upcoming music. Although Pink Floyd will be releasing a new album this November titled "Endless River," Rogers will not be a part of it. In his confused-sounding post, Waters cleared things up about his involvement in Pink Floyd’s new record.

David Gilmour and Nick Mason have an album coming out. It's called Endless River. David and Nick constitute the group Pink Floyd. I on the other hand, am not part of Pink Floyd. I left Pink Floyd in 1985, that's 29 years ago. I had nothing to do with either of the Pink Floyd studio albums, Momentary Lapse of Reason and The Division Bell, nor the Pink Floyd tours of 1987 and 1994, and I have nothing to do with Endless River. Phew! This is not rocket science people, get a grip.”

*Fleetwood Mac's Stevie Nicks has released a new single. Nicks song "Mabel Normand" is off her upcoming "24 Karat Gold: Songs From the Vault" and is named after the screen legend Norman who died in 1930, following a cocaine addiction. 

"Give 'Mabel Normand' a special listen," the singer wrote, according to NME. "Mabel was an amazing actress and comedian from the '20s, and she was a terrible cocaine addict. She eventually died of tuberculosis, but it was really her drug addiction that killed her."

*A few months back, Peal Jam’s frontman, Eddie Vedder, debuted a cover of John Lennon’s “Imagine” as part of a solo set he did in Portugal. Vedder’s performance of the cover from July 18th is now available for purchase via iTunes and all of the proceeds will go to Heartbeat: Amplifying Youth Voices- which is an organization that provides opportunities and spaces for young Israeli and Palestinian musicians to work together and use their voices to influence the world surrounding them.

You might remember Vedder's "Imagine" cover more for the anti-war tirade he went on before launching into the cover. His speech went into his cover song.

To purchase Eddie Vedder’s cover of imagine you can go to iTunes.

*Is Metallica the next band that's going to pop up on your iPhone whether you like it or not? Maybe. Metallica drummer Lars Ulrich told Billboard U2's iTunes released of "Songs of Innocence" inspired him "immensely" for their "attempt to reinvent the wheel." 

"It's 2014 and anybody who thinks outside the box, or attempts in any way, shape or form, to break the status quo in the world of music, should be applauded," Ulrich said. "To me, it’s not about whether the endeavour is a success or not. It’s the fact that they have the balls and the foresight to throw something this radical at us."

*Gene Simmons is known for being outspoken and for standing by his statements, regardless of the backlash. The latest example is when the Kiss star claimed that rock was dead, that is was "murdered." Rob Halford and Dee Snider were just two of people who spoke out against Simmons' sentiment. He isn't backing down, however. 

"Rock and roll is dead. I'm gonna ask you a question, and you decide, okay? From 1958 until 1988, it's 30 years, name hundreds and hundreds of classic rock acts?" Simmons said to Kansas City Live. "Okay, I've got Elvis Presley, the Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin on and on and on. Even Motown, Madonna, Prince, Michael Jackson. From 1988 until today, just give me five. You can't. No. Nobody. How about that?"

"I think it really comes down to when technology outpaces the laws of the land – it's the Wild West," Simmons continued. "People just go and grab territory and don't pay for it. It devalues new bands. It doesn't affect me – I make a living – but it's sad, because the next Beatles or the next Kiss, it does not have a chance."























































































































  *Deep Purple will release the 40th Anniversary Edition deluxe box set of their 1972 album classic, "Machine Head," on TODAY and a new trailer has gone online to promThe new box set features five discs and will be accompanied with fully illustrated 60 page hardback booklet, housed in a luxury box.


  • Recently Updated


    • 2013 MAX Muncie Gras

    • 2010 Alice Cooper Open

    • 2011 MAX Rocks the 4th


An Ad has not been trafficed here..